Gravatar for wvuong@captechconsulting.com

Question by wvuong, Apr 7, 2016 1:56 PM

Top results being deleted

I have coveo installed on a CM server. I have setup my top results folder and Coveo to automatically sync the master and web databases through the Coveo.SearchProvider.config file. When I manually sync the top results with the pubweb database, the top result item is visible in the Coveo Administration tool briefly, but then it is deleted. I have done this while the CES console is open and no errors occur. It just notifies me that the result has been deleted.

Is this caused by the agent clearing existing results before synchronizing? I have not been able to reproduce this on my local environment.

1 Reply
Gravatar for jflheureux@coveo.com

Answer by Jean-François L'Heureux, Apr 7, 2016 2:19 PM

Hi,

This can happen if you have modified the top results folder on your CM server but forgot to synchronize the configuration change over to your CD servers.

The top results folder path is stored in the Coveo.TopResults.FolderPath setting of the Coveo.SearchProvider.config file like this:

<settings>
  <setting name="Coveo.TopResults.FolderPath" value="/sitecore/system/Modules/Coveo/Top Results" />
</settings>

Modifying it in the control panel wizard only changes the setting value on the local Sitecore instance.

On CD servers, the synchronization agent still runs but not for the master database. If the CD servers have a different top results folder, they will delete all the top results in Coveo Enterprise Search when they will run the synchronization.

I hope this helps.

Jeff

Ask a question